Thursday, 16 July 2009

Upbeat no more

UPBEAT is now no more.
Thanks to everyone who's read the column or contributed to it over the past year-and-a-bit.
Don't forget, you can still keep up to the minute with the music world at Sound Advice.
So long, and thanks for all the discs.

Orb having a ball

• THE mighty Orb will be round the charts again with a new album, out on September 7.
Baghdad Batteries sees the return of the electronica legends, who virtually invented the ambient house genre.
• No record collection will be complete without a copy of Complete Me, the new album from Frankmusik.
The emerging popstar’s debut album, out on August 3, includes the hit single Three Little Words.
• Elephant Stone, ex-High Dials guitarist Rishi Dhir’s new band, have released a first album, The Seven Seas.
And you can download a free track, I Am Blind, by visiting
• Club brand Pacha is set to release a triple-CD of the hittest dance tracks around.
The Ibiza collection, out on August 3, features hits from the likes of David Guetta, Simian Mobile Disco, Empire Of The Sun and Fedde Le Grande.
• Jordin Sparks, American Idol winner, has put out a new album.
Battlefield, which features the smash hit of the same name, is in stores now.
• They’re not from Manchester, and there’s only five of them - but don’t let that put you off Manchester Orchestra.
The Atlantan grunge band’s latest album Mean Everything To Nothing is a must-have for rock fans.
• Kid British, who mix ska, indie and rap, release a full length album on September 14.
It Was This Or Football will feature their current single Our House Is Dadless.
• Good grief! If you like yoru house hard, then Goodgreef Xtra Hard is the collectiong for you.
The album, mixed by Lisa Lashes, Showtek and Kutski, features the luikes of Anne Savage, Organ Donors and Joy Kitikonti.
• The Victorian English Gentlemen’s Club release a new album on September 7.
The album, Love On An Oil Rig, features the fothcoming single Wathcing The Burglars.
• Brighton band Stick In A Pot, who mix po, punk and folk, release a new EP, When The Monsters Arrive, on August 3.
• If all of this is music to your ears, you can read more from the pop world online at

Thursday, 9 July 2009

VV Brown travelling into the charts

• SPEEDING towards the charts with her new album Travelling Like The Light is hot tip VV Brown.
The singer combines Elvis style rock and roll with modern R&B and soul on the album, which was released this week.
• Star in the making Mr Hudson releases his new single Supernova on July 20.
The track, taken from the impending album Straight No Chaser, is a stunning collaboration with rapper Kanye West.
• Movers and shakers in the rock world The Rumble Strips have a new album in stores this week.
Welcome To The Walk Alone is the group’s second album, and features production work by Mark Ronson.
• Colourful artist Pink’s new single Funhouse is to be released on August 3.
The track is fourth song to be lifted from the album of the same name.
• Hotly tipped teen Daisy Dares You has put out a free track ahead of a full album release later this year.
To get a copy of the 15-year-old pop star’s track Daisy Dares You log on to
• DJ turned singer songwriter Fink releases a new single this week.
Sort Of Revolution, the title track from his brilliant new album, features a B-side remix by the Cinematic Orchestra.
• Lighten up! The new single from The Heavy is out.
You can pick up the sweet Sixteen, taken from the fortchoming album The House That Dirt Built, from this week.
• Britney Spears is back on the Radar - with a new single.
The track, from her album Circus, is out on July 27.
• Cool cats will already be waiting to pounce on the new album from Cougar, which is out on August 24.
The brilliant new band’s album, Patriot, sees them pushing the genres of metal and electronica to new heights.
• Spinnerette, the new band fronted by The Distillers’ Brody Dalle, has released a new album.
Stoner rock stomper Spinnerette, which features the track Ghetto Love, is out now.
• If all of this is music to your ears, you can read more from the pop world online at

Final editions

THE Loughborough Trader Xtra's last edition was printed this week.
Upbeat will continue to be carried until the last editions of the Burton Trader, Coalville Echo and Ashby Trader & Echo newspapers which are out the week beginning July 20.

Thursday, 2 July 2009

Florence And The Machine gunning for the charts

• BRIT award winner Florence And The Machine finally releases her anticipated debbut album this week.
Lungs contains the single Dog Days Are Over as well as an inspired cover of The Source’s You Got The Love.
• DJ Food fans can finally feast on new material from the reclusive DJ.
His first work in nearly a decade, his new EP One Man’s Weird Is Another Man’s World is out now, and is the first taster for next year’s album.
• Punk band Kong, who sound like a megalosaur tearing through Middlesbrough with predictably madcap results, release a new albyum Snake Magnet later this month.
You can download a free track from the album, Sport, by logging on to
• Swedish sensation Mando Diao, who sound like a cross between The Hives and The Libertines, have a EP out this week.
Mean Street is the first UK release from the group, who have a cult following across Northern Europe.
• Looking for a wheely good indie band? Try Bombay Bicycle Club.
The group released their debut album, I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Off, this Monday.
• Raw talent Dominique Young Unique, a 17-year-old female rapper from Florida, is set to release her debut EP Music Time this month.
You can download a free track from the release, which is being promoted by Yo Majesty!, by visiting
• Here’s one to get tongues wagging - The Gossip have a new album out.
Beth Ditto and co have put out a new LP called Music For Men.
• Metalcore legends Killswitch Engage have a new self-titled album out.
The album, the group’s second eponymous effort, sees the Massachusetts group making great strides towards the charts with their critically acclaimed metal sound.
• The latest dance trends to hit the dancefloors firmly in the Balearics have been captured on a new triple album.
Cream Ibiza, which features acts such as Deadmau5, Paul Van Dyk and The Killers, is out now.
• If all of this is music to your ears, you can read more from the pop world online at

Wednesday, 1 July 2009

Upbeat on a downer

IN AN announcement today, Trinity Mirror Midlands has revealed plans to restructure its business.
The plans take in the closure of a number of titles including the four which carry the Upbeat column.
It has not yet announced when the final editions of each will run.
Thanks to everyone who has read the column over the past year, you can still keep up to date with music news at