Thursday, 26 June 2008

Kid Rock on

• DESPITE bringing a sicknote to Download Festival this year, white trash icon Kid Rock has managed to record a new single.
The ‘American Bad Ass’ will release All Summer Long, a Lynyrd Skynrd homage taken from his album Rock N Roll Jesus, on July 7.
• Ska-influenced sharpshooters The Rifles are aiming at the charts with a new single, I Could Never Lie, out on July 21.
The band, whose jangly indie will appeal to former fans of The Libertines, are also planning to release an as-yet untitled second album in Otcober.
• Grime fighters Hadouken! release new single Crank It Up on July 7.
A frenetic flash of the band’s furious rave-rousing sound, the single is also available on their supurb album Music For An Accelerated Culture.
• Guildford-based band {satellite-state} have offered a taste of things to come with their debut four-track self-titled EP.
You can hear more fromthe band, who play sweeping, melodic MOR indie, at
• Dancefloor filling indie disco kids Look See Proof have released their debut album Between Here And There.
The album, despite its title, is where it’s at, with their choppy angular sound pioneered by the likes of Bloc Party, The Rakes and The Futureheads.
• In case you missed it, the world’s biggest band Coldplay have a new album out.
Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends – so good they named it twice, eh? – was produced by Brian Eno and Markus Dravs and includes the single Violet Hill.
• The Thirst are set to release a new single, My Everything, from their debut album On The Brink.
The Brixton band’s new release hits the shelves on July 14.
• Former Libertine Carl Barat’s latest vehicle, Dirty Pretty Things, is speeding towards the charts wih a new album.
Romance At Short Notice was released on June 30, and features the current single Tired Of England.
• If all of this is music to your ears, log on to Isaac Ashe's Sound Advice for more from the pop world.

Thursday, 19 June 2008

Folky bloke a-okay

• HUNKY folk singer songwriter Seth Lakeman releases his new album, Poor Man’s Heaven, on June 30.
The West Country artist’s third album is another tasty slice of acoustic rock-influenced rhythmic folk.
• Pianist and singer Sara Bareilles’s new album, Little Voice, has hit the UK.
The album, which features the breakthrough single Love Song, has already proved a big hit in the US with its radio-friendly sound.
• New Yorker Jesse McCartney is destined to be a big Jesse, after releasing his album of R’n’B slicker than a greased hog.
Described as a blend of Michael Jackson and Timbaland, the album, Departure, features the single Leavin’.
• Bag yourself a bottle of Blue Nun and turn up the fondue – 70’s Dinner Party is released on July 7.
A three CD nostalgia trip, the compilation features artists Demis Roussos, David Soul, 10cc, Art Garfunkel, Telly Savalas, Barry Manilow, Minnie Riperton and many more.
• BWO – Bodies Without Organs – release a new single, Lay Your Love On Me, on July 28.
The pop dance legends new single is a precurser to their latest album, singles collection Pandemonium, which is released on August 11.
• Swedish band Napoleon are ready to invade the UK’s shores with a raucous new single Send Me A Woman.
The sound of the band is a big as the band itself – made up of 10 members.
• Soapstar superstar Richard Fleeshman has a new single out, Back Here, on July 14.
The singer, a former Coronation Street actor, is also touring theUK during June and July – check out his myspace page for more information.
• Hip indie band Black Kids’ new single, Hurricane Jane, is released on June 23.
You can hear the song, which propelled the band onto the critics’ radars this year, at a series of UK tour dates up until August. For more details check out their myspace.
• There will be no mistaking The Corrections following the release of their debut album Repeat After Me on July 7.
The band, who have been compared to Radiohead and Arcade Fire, are back after previously hitting the shelves under the guise of The Fallout Trust.
• Former Afro Celt Sound System meber, Guinean kora and balafon player and singer N’Faly KouyatÈ releases an album with his backing band Dunyakan on August 4.
The LP, titled Tunya, tells stories frrom his West African homeland in traditional African music mixed with electronica, rock, classical and pop.
• Kaki King, the only female guitarist to ever be named a Guitar God by Rolling Stone magazine, is back with a dazzling new album Dreaming Of Revenge.
The guitarist and singer, whose virtuoso playing is world-renowned, has mixed her unearthly skills on a six-string with electronica and looping techniques to create an acheingly beautful effort.
• Cheeky Liverpudlians The Rascals have finally released their debut album Rascalize.
The indie boys’ album, a raw, energetic effort, will be lapped up by fans of The Coral and Arctic Monkeys.
• Canadian superstar Alanis Morissette has released her first studio album after a four-year absence.
Flavours Of Engagement blends her distictive pop rock sound with Eastern percussion, strings and electronica.
• Icelandic post-rockers Sigur Ros have released a new album, Med Sud I Eyrum Vid Spilum Endelaust.
The catchily-titled album sees the band’s spacey sound stripped down – as does the artwork.
• Whoooo! The Black Ghosts, made up of former knob-twiddlers in Simian and The Wiseguys, release their eponymous debut album on July 7.
The electro, dubstep album, destined for the dancefloor, features the Damon Albarn collaboration Repetition Kills You.
• If all of this is music to your ears, log on to Isaac Ashe's Sound Advice for more from the pop world.